Hannah Likes · work

Writing My Way To Life

 

woman-792162_1920
Pictures courtesy of Kaboompics/Pixabay

 

 

During my younger years, writing helped me get through my college life. It’s not because I need it but it was something I set my mind to do. The scholarship I received was just something extra that helped lessen my educational expenses. Apart from all the learning that I gained, it was the relationship that I had with my co-writers that made me enjoy the years I spent with the student publication. Most of the people I met there are still my good friends until now. We still kept in touch through the years.

After graduation, I thought I would not be able to use my writing skills anymore. I  had no chance to do simple writing or anything close to it. Oh, I forgot the closest thing that I did was the letters I gave to family and friends from time to time.

Fast forward to 2014, 14 years after graduating from college, I decided to start writing some essays as a past time whenever I feel blue or overjoyed. It is really therapeutic especially if you can’t express yourself clearly to the people around you. I tried to write poems again but maybe I was not inspired that time because I can’t come up with something worth sharing.

Since my youngest son was getting better after his surgery, I decided to look for a home based job to help augment our daily expenses. It wasn’t long before I found a group of writers who accept writing jobs from foreign clients. Eventually, I became a part of their team and I started writing again. I wrote some chapters of eBooks and later on, I received some blogging jobs, met direct clients along the way until one encouraged me to start my own team of writers. That led to the birth of  Freehand.

I learned to write more niches through the network of writers that I have.We managed to write 6 eBooks in less than 2 months. At first, it was not easy but I, together with my team took it one step at a time. We spent a lot of sleepless nights working on several projects. It honed us to become better writers. I connected with people who are experts in this field and they were generous enough to lend a hand whenever I needed their advice. I’m very thankful I’ve met amazing people like them.

My heart goes to my writers as well, we didn’t get a lot out of those books that we made but I’m happy because they gave their best and produced quality eBooks. Funny thing is that we only met online and haven’t got the chance to see each other apart from our Skype sessions.

One thing I learned from this experience is that everything happens for a reason. There was a point in my life when I thought I wasted my time in the student publication because I was not able to use it when I was still working in the outside world (lol). It was only now that I realized God is really wise. He made me learn something that will eventually help me to become a more versatile person.

I know I still have a lot to learn and no way can I compare myself with the experts but right now, I’m happy where I am. I’m contented with the simple gifts that I have, with the small group of people that I deal with every single day. All because I know I get to pay it forward. Helping people achieve their dreams like how I am trying to reach my beautiful place in this beautiful world.

Find yours and smile every day.

Leave a Reply

